2009-2010 Season

Subscribe and save 10%
Plus receive a FREE ticket voucher for a friend!
Call the box office today: (847) 673-6300
click to enlarge:
NSCPAS Main Floor Seating
Main Floor
NSCPAS Balcony Seating
(65 & over)
(under 21)
Gold Boxes $315 ($35) $315 ($35) $315 ($35)
Blue $216 ($24) $198 ($22) $135 ($15)
Orange $198 ($22) $180 ($20)  $90 ($10)
Brown $175 ($20) $158 ($17)  $72 ($8)
Single Tickets   ·  (847) 673-6300
Use the link next to the concerts of your choice. Internet orders are for single tickets only.
(65 & over)
(under 21)
Gold Boxes $70 $70 $70
Blue $48 $44 $30
Orange $44 $40 $20
Brown $39 $35 $16


Elizabeth Joy Roe, piano
Elizabeth Joy Roe, piano

Sunday, October 25, 4:30pm

Elizabeth Joy Roe Interview & Bio + Program Notes

Bask in great masterworks of Mendelssohn as we join in observing the bicentennial of his birth: the ever-popular first piano concerto with a soloist who, first appearing with Ars Viva as winner of the Steinway Competition ten years ago, has gone on to establish a brilliant performance career; the rarely heard symphony from Mendelssohn’s monumental “Hymn of Praise;” the sparkling overture from the oratorio, “St. Paul;” and the glorious symphony written to celebrate the 300th anniversary of Luther’s Augsburg Confession.

Piano Concerto No. 1 in g minor
Elizabeth Joy Roe, piano

Symphony No. 2 in B-flat

St. Paul Overture

Symphony No. 5 in d minor (“Reformation”)


Ilya Kaler, violin
Ilya Kaler, violin

Sunday, November 15, 4:30pm

Ilya Kaler's Bio + Program Notes

Join the celebration of Maestro Heatherington’s own birthday with three works by one of his favorite composers, Johannes Brahms. Hear the incomparable violin concerto featuring the extraordinary artistry of Ilya Kaler, the brilliantly conceived Haydn variations and the exquisite pastoral beauty of the third symphony, a program that displays the Ars Viva musicians at their finest.

Variations on a Theme by Haydn

Violin Concerto in D
Ilya Kaler, violin

Symphony No. 3 in F

Music of England, Italy, Hungary and FranceEuropean Voyage

European Voyage

Sunday, January 10, 4:30pm

Program Notes + Interview with Principal Oboist Michael Henoch

One unique feature of Ars Viva is our commitment to presenting lesser-known but astonishing works, often by unjustly neglected composers. Richard Rodney Bennett’s Partita is an energetic orchestral showpiece by an English composer who deserves to be far better known in the USA. Respighi’s evocative orchestral reflections on three of Botticelli’s greatest masterpieces is a treasure of “Italian impressionism.” The Hungarian Kodály’s miniature portrayal of summer tranquility will leave you wishing for more (while chasing away winter’s cold). Finally, Ravel’s work skillfully displays his genius as the master of colorful orchestration.

Bennett Partita

Respighi Botticelli Triptych

Kodaly Summer Evening

Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin

Music of Norway, Denmark and FinlandNordic Warmth

Yang Liu, violin
Yang Liu, violin

Sunday, February 28, 4:30pm

Program Notes and
an interview with Yang Liu

Winter is a fact of life in Scandinavian lands, where favorite escapes include an hour in the sauna or the experience of incredibly beautiful music. You will need to supply your own sauna, but Ars Viva will give you the great music: Grieg’s best-loved melodies; Nielsen’s meltingly lyrical violin concerto with the consummate Chinese-American artist, Yang Liu (acclaimed as “best of the billion!”); and a richly rewarding Sibelius symphony often on the lists of musicians’ favorites.

Grieg Peer Gynt Suite 1

Nielsen Violin Concerto
Yang Liu, violin

Sibelius Symphony No. 3 in C

2010 competition winner, Matthew Lipman of the Music Institute of Chicago
Matthew Lipman, 2010 Music Institute of Chicago competition winner

Young Artist SHOWCASE

Sunday, May 2, 4:30pm Buy Tickets

Program Notes and
an interview with Matt Lipman

Our season concludes with some very special “firsts:” an appearance by the first winner of a new competition organized by Ars Viva and the Music Institute of Chicago , violist Matthew Lipman, and a return to the work that triumphantly concluded the first Ars Viva season in the North Shore Center, Brahms’ powerfully moving first symphony. Opening the concert is a brief but engaging homage to music by former CSO composer-in-residence, John Corigliano.

Corigliano To Music

WALTONConcerto for Viola and Orchestra
Matthew Lipman, viola
(winner of the Music Institute of Chicago
Concerto Competition)

Brahms Symphony No. 1 in c minor

All concerts at the North Shore Center for the Performing Arts in Skokie, Illinois

North Shore Center for the Performing Arts Skokie
North Shore Center for the Performing Arts

NSCPAS Box Office
847 673-6300

ONLINE Single Ticket Orders
Just use the BUY TICKETS link next to the concerts of your choice.

Subscribe and Save

SAVE · 10% for subscribers (from $8 to $35 per subscription)

SAVE · FREE ticket voucher for a friend (up to a $70 value)

SAVE · Parking is FREE (save $25 or more)

SAVE · NEVER A WASTED TICKET. Have a conflict on your subscription night? No problem! Just call and exchange your ticket for another night or receive a voucher to bring a friend to another performance or turn in your ticket for a tax-deductible donation.

SAVE your special SEATS in this beautiful acoustically superb 850-seat performance hall located near Westfield Old Orchard Shopping Center and many great restaurants.

Subscribe and Enjoy

Chicago’s finest musicians, many of whom are members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra

As he introduces each piece of music, Maestro Heatherington will keep you enthralled, informed and smiling.

Always interesting music with some pieces that you will not hear anywhere else in Chicago – a perfect mix of old and new!